Peer Review

Include two peer comments following the TAG formula.

T= Tell them what you like about their post.
A=Ask them a question about their post.
G=Give them a suggestion.

Don't use plagiarized sources. Get Your Custom Essay on
Peer Review
Get an essay WRITTEN FOR YOU, Plagiarism free, and by an EXPERT!
Order Essay

1st Peer Post:
Haaj
Global Learning Assignment
An archetype is a widely understood symbol or term that artists use to symbolize a certain kind of meaning in their art. They were developed by Carl Jung, a Swiss psychiatrist and psychoanalyst, who believed that there were various patterns that inhabit the collective unconscious of all humans. For example, the archetype, “persona”, is one that represents the face or character that people assume in order to leave an impression on the public. When a person sees a mask in a drawing, they usually associate that symbol with a fake or other persona, someone masking themselves to show a different side of them. Archetypes allow artists to express themselves and the purpose of their art to viewers, making them understand it more easily.
The archetype that best resembles me is the sage one, because I like to think logically and solve problems in the most reasonable way. Being a sage means that you use intelligence and analyze your surroundings in order to understand the world. As such, I like to ask questions and delve deeper into information that is introduced to me so I can learn new things. I value wisdom and knowledge more than other things, since they help me advance further in life and internally.

A. Vincent Van Gogh
B. Self-Portrait
C. September 1889
D. Musée d’Orsay, Paris, France.
E. pp. 11

The work that I chose is the Self-Portrait by Vincent Van Gogh, which is one of over 30 self-portraits that he created, from 1886 to 1889. Since he didn’t have enough money to pay people to model his portraits during this time, Van Gogh resorted to painting himself multiple times, because he believed that repetition meant improvement. In this portrait, the colors that stand out in particular are the colors that complement each other, shades of blue and orange. Throughout the painting, instead of a solid layer of color, Van Gogh uses various colors and patterns of lines in unison to imitate the folds in clothes and other such details. To place emphasis on himself, Van Gogh painted himself as the centerpiece of the painting and in large scale.
The purpose of the Self-Portrait of Van Gogh was practice. The artist wanted to practice painting people, and so, painted himself using a mirror. In this painting, the bright, red and orange colors of his hair directly contrasting with his clothes and background place emphasis on his face and expression. In order to illustrate balance, because of the piece’s asymmetrical nature, the background is filled with swirls in the color of Van Gogh’s shirt. Instead of creating a crowded setting behind his piece, to draw attention to only his portrait, Van Gogh doesn’t do much but leave it plain and simply filled with colored patterns.
Judging by the expression of Van Gogh in his, presumably last, portrait, the painter looks more aggressive than he does in his previous works. It seems as if he’s done with examining his features for signs of madness (“Self Portrait by Vincent Van Gogh”). At this point, he has already been admitted to the asylum for his illness, and he shows his psychotic state with the patterns that are seen in the piece. The swirls all throughout the painting, which are similar to those in another one of his works, the Starry Night, resemble drawings that mental patients tend to draw, further proving his psychotic state during the creation of it. By the tones that are used to color his hair, it seems as if Van Gogh was attempting to show his irritation or anger at the time, since the color red symbolizes either passion or fury.
This Self-Portrait, which was completed mere months before his death, successfully shows his mental state and his purpose in creating the piece. He continuously made self-portraits of himself in order to improve his skills at drawing humans. In the end, as can be seen through his portrait, he was able to express himself and how he felt through the colors he used and the expressions he made (“Vincent Van Gogh, Self-Portrait”). By using the colors and textures that he did, the artist finished his collection of self-portraits at a sad note, showing that his condition did not, in fact, improve, and he was able to realize his own mental state through the faces in the paintings he made. In the other paintings in his collection, he also depicted his mood and how his appearance changed with time, such as showing his injured ear in some, and his pale, thin figure in others.
The connection between the Self-Portrait and the archetype that I chose, the sage, would be the wisdom that Van Gogh gathered throughout his lifetime. The reason that the artist would paint himself over and over was to polish his skills in drawing humans, and both his purpose for creating this piece and the archetype relate in the want for improvement, for knowledge (“5 Things You Need to Know about Van Gogh’s Self-Portraits – Van Gogh Museum”). Since there isn’t much content in the piece other than himself, Van Gogh’s use of color could serve as a key detail. The use of reds and oranges against the greenish blue tints of the background bring more attention to the key focus of the painting, the artist. Due to the contrasting colors, the viewer’s focus is attached to the centerpiece of the painting, allowing them to see the richness of the red colors (“Draw Paint Academy”). In a similar sense, the archetype focuses on logic rather than the creativity that surrounds it, to justify or explain it.
Vincent Van Gogh was a post-impressionist painter, which meant he emphasized symbolic content. In this painting, he uses the vivid blue swirls encompassing the background as a symbol of his psychotic state (“Self Portrait by Vincent Van Gogh”). His art and experiences, the way he was able to express himself through his paintings, all together makes him a remarkable genius artist who people would look up to. In this way, Van Gogh’s experiences and he himself serve as a symbol of wisdom, that which sages have or wish to have.
The origins of this piece were a moment in which Van Gogh was driven to act on his creativity by madness. Because he was in an unstable mental state, the artist was unable to make money or hire models to create portraits of. This made him resort to drawing himself, which he repeated multiple times, and the last time that he did, he captured his mentality and irritation through the colors and expressions he used. He was severely depressed and later shot himself, but wasn’t considered an artist or as famous as he is now until after his death.
In the early 20th century, Van Gogh began to gain a reputation and he inspired other people’s art. This new knowledge is connected to the sage archetype because it shows that the artist, who is depicted in the painting I chose, ended up gaining a reputation as a famous artist after his death, and led other artists to learn from him. The sage archetype strives to learn new things, to gain knowledge, and spread that knowledge, all of which the artist did or wanted to do. By practicing the process of painting a human, he wanted knowledge, and by later becoming a famous artist, he spread knowledge.

Bibliography
“Self Portrait, 1889 by Vincent Van Gogh.” Self Portrait by Vincent Van Gogh, www.vincentvangogh.org/self-portrait.jsp.
“National Gallery of Art.” Vincent Van Gogh, Self-Portrait, 1889, www.nga.gov/collection/highlights/van-gogh-self-portrait.html.
“Irises: Van Gogh Gallery.” Vincent Van Gogh Self Portrait | Van Gogh Gallery, www.vangoghgallery.com/misc/selfportrait.html#:~:text=Vincent%20van%20Gogh%20painted%20over,his%20skills%20as%20an%20artist.
Conor Neill. “Understanding Personality: The 12 Jungian Archetypes.” Moving People to Action, Conor Neill, 5 Jan. 2020, conorneill.com/2018/04/21/understanding-personality-the-12-jungian-archetypes/.
“5 Things You Need to Know about Van Gogh’s Self-Portraits.” 5 Things You Need to Know about Van Gogh’s Self-Portraits – Van Gogh Museum, www.vangoghmuseum.nl/en/stories/5-things-you-need-to-know-about-van-goghs-self-portraits#1.
Scott, Dan, et al. “How The Impressionists Used Complementary Colors To Great Effect.” Draw Paint Academy, 23 Apr. 2020, drawpaintacademy.com/impressionists-used-complementary-colors/#:~:text=Complementary%20colors%20provide%20striking%20visual,contrast%20with%20their%20complementary%20colors.%22.

2nd Peer Post:
Steph
Global Learning Assignment
Archetypes are globally known categories of personality and behavior that are normally used in creative formats, like storytelling, but it also covers any recurring themes. In art, archetypes are helpful if the artist wants the piece to be universally understood. Archetypes help the viewer or reader make connections to stereotypes and preexisting notions they have. These archetypes can be explored in creative forms by contradicting or adding to the known conventions. There aren’t just archetypes for personalities but themes as well. You can see this in art with colors, objects, or animals. For example, to show serenity, an artist might use a lot of blue or its analogous colors.
The archetype that coincides the best with my personality would be “Artist as Jester.” I’m not a comedian or consider myself really funny, but when I was reading each archetype this one stood out to me. I love to laugh at everything, even when I’m getting scolded, which has gotten me in trouble before. I never take myself seriously and my goal is to enjoy life as much as possible. This does lead to some of my negative traits like laziness and greediness. For these reasons, I think this archetype fits my personality best.

1. Hieronymus Bosch.
2. The Garden of Earthly Delights, center section.
3. Between 1505 and 1510.
4. A. Museo del Prado, Madrid, Spain; central panel is part of a triptych.
B. page 72

The center section of the triptych, “The Garden of Earthly Delights,” by the Netherlandish painter Hieronymus Bosch, showcases people experiencing worldly pleasures in nature, as well as fantastical scenarios. The title is not the original name for the piece and it was created in the early 1500s, oil on panel. All of the human figures on the center panel are nude and taking part in various types of debauchery, along with an array of animals and giant fruits. The piece is very colorful, with lots of bright reds, blues, and greens alongside the muted pale skin tone of many of the people.
The center panel of this piece is part of a triptych that tells the story of the world’s creation, Adam and Eve on the left, the world in the center, and hell on the right. In the center, the top of the panel is the sky and some valleys in the distance that are followed by more valleys, buildings, and bodies of water. The work has humans scattered all over the place, many in groups of at least two. All the humans are meant to be enacting worldly desires and sins. In the foreground, there is a man carrying a giant mussel shell on his back with two people wedged inside, and in the background of the panel, there is even a mermaid in the water. The work does not focus on one certain person or group of people, it showcases a multitude of creatures all doing various rare things.
The expressive qualities in the work are funny and fantastical to me, but also slightly tragic if what awaits them is the hell in the right panel. This work reminds me of biblical teachings since it is meant to represent worldly sins and delights. Although the figures in the center panel are cavorting and enjoying life, because of their sins they are going to hell after death. The content of the piece itself doesn’t relate to any events in the world due to its fantastical nature, but it does relate to the idea that the world is full of sin and temptation.
I feel that this work is a success because it was able to have an impact on the religious time period that the piece was made in. It demonstrates worldly delights in a fantastical way for viewers to interpret individually. I would compare this artwork to the “Adoration of the Mystic Lamb,” by Hubert Van Eyck and Jan Van Eyck. This is also a religious piece composed of 12 panels and was stolen 6 different times. The center panel of this work has a similar composition to the center panel in “The Garden of Earthly Delights.” This work is not original in its message and theme of religion and the creation of the world but it is original in the way it is executed. The multitude of people and how they interact with giant animals and fruits is not common at all. I think that strangeness is what makes the piece unique.

The archetype I chose was the Jester, whose core desire is to live in the moment and enjoy life to the fullest. This archetype does this by poking fun, making jokes, and brightening up the mood. This painting connects with this archetype through all those things. The main message of the center panel of “The Garden of Earthly Delights,” is to show the worldly pleasures and depicts many people cavorting around. This connects greatly to the archetype because it shows people living their lives joyfully and giving in to the pleasures life has to offer.
The panel’s content itself is very jester-like. There are plenty of fantastical creatures and objects doing strange things. Some of these are mermaids, unicorns, flying fish, giant fruits, and exotic mineral structures. There are people sitting in fruits, riding giant ducks, or doing handstands surrounding a bird. These images are bizarre and out of the ordinary, giving them a comical quality. The panel also does not even show explicit sex scenes, the lewdest it gets is a man with a bundle of flowers in his behind. This adds to the more light-heartedness of the center panel in comparison to the other two. There is no real vice shown, just implications of it. The jester is also known as the fool. In the middle of the panel, there’s a circular pond with siren-like women bathing inside. There is a ring of men riding animals circling the pond, trying to get the attention of the women. Since this is in the middle of the piece, it shows how men are foolish to be tempted by women, also relating to how Adam was foolish.

What was going on in the world socially, politically, historically, scientifically, religiously, philosophically, artistically, and or other origins and or developments, etc. that would motivate an artist or a group of artists to create a work of art like the one you selected? How is this new knowledge connected to your archetype?
In Europe, the time period 1500-1600 was known for the High Renaissance and Mannerism. The High Renaissance referenced a lot of classical art and earlier Renaissance techniques. During this time there was height in humanist ideals in art, contrasting with long-lasting Christian beliefs. This led to the Mannerism movement that emphasized elongated figures and a lack of clear perspective. There was an interest in classical Roman and Greek philosophies about humans and the universe, leaving behind the highly religious influences of the medieval times. The fleetingness of these ideals could have inspired Hieronymus Bosch to paint such a religious art piece.
This new knowledge is connected to my archetype by giving more context to the subject of “The Garden of Earthly Delights.” During this time, there were emerging humanistic ideals. In the painting, you can see where these ideas shine through the religious context. In the center panel, the humans have free will, they are the reason for their own demise. Since my archetype is the jester, these slightly humanistic ideals connect with the carefree nature of the jester.

Works Cited
“Garden of Earthly Delights, Hieronymus Bosch: Interpretation, Analysis.” Www.Visual-Arts-Cork.Com, www.visual-arts-cork.com/famous-paintings/garden-of-earthly-delights.htm. Accessed 12 July 2020.
Getlein, Mark. Living With Art. 12th ed., Penn Plaza, New York, McGraw-Hill Education, 2020, p. 72.
Hickson, Sally. “Bosch, The Garden of Earthly Delights.” Khan Academy, 2018, www.khanacademy.org/humanities/renaissance-reformation/northern/hieronymus-bosch/a/bosch-the-garden-of-earthly-delights.
Neill, Conor. “Understanding Personality: The 12 Jungian…” Moving People to Action, Conor Neill, 21 Apr. 2018, conorneill.com/2018/04/21/understanding-personality-the-12-jungian-archetypes/.
Saeed, Qurat. “Archetypes in Literature and Arts: Definition, Types and Uses.” Write a Writing, 18 Oct. 2019, www.writeawriting.com/creative/archetypes-in-literature-art/. Accessed 12 July 2020.
“The High Renaissance | Boundless Art History.” Lumenlearning.Com, 2019, courses.lumenlearning.com/boundless-arthistory/chapter/the-high-renaissance/.
Thomas, Byron. “The Garden Of Earthly Delights – A Documentary.” YouTube, 1 Apr. 2018, www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mx14iDiyC3Q.

Top Grade Homework
Order NOW For a 10% Discount!
Pages (550 words)
Approximate price: -

Why Work with Us

Top Quality and Well-Researched Papers

We always make sure that writers follow all your instructions precisely. You can choose your academic level: high school, college/university or professional, and we will assign a writer who has a respective degree.

Professional and Experienced Academic Writers

We have a team of professional writers with experience in academic and business writing. Many are native speakers and able to perform any task for which you need help.

Free Unlimited Revisions

If you think we missed something, send your order for a free revision. You have 10 days to submit the order for review after you have received the final document. You can do this yourself after logging into your personal account or by contacting our support.

Prompt Delivery and 100% Money-Back-Guarantee

All papers are always delivered on time. In case we need more time to master your paper, we may contact you regarding the deadline extension. In case you cannot provide us with more time, a 100% refund is guaranteed.

Original & Confidential

We use several writing tools checks to ensure that all documents you receive are free from plagiarism. Our editors carefully review all quotations in the text. We also promise maximum confidentiality in all of our services.

24/7 Customer Support

Our support agents are available 24 hours a day 7 days a week and committed to providing you with the best customer experience. Get in touch whenever you need any assistance.

Try it now!

Calculate the price of your order

Total price:
$0.00

How it works?

Follow these simple steps to get your paper done

Place your order

Fill in the order form and provide all details of your assignment.

Proceed with the payment

Choose the payment system that suits you most.

Receive the final file

Once your paper is ready, we will email it to you.

Our Services

No need to work on your paper at night. Sleep tight, we will cover your back. We offer all kinds of writing services.

Essays

Essay Writing Service

No matter what kind of academic paper you need and how urgent you need it, you are welcome to choose your academic level and the type of your paper at an affordable price. We take care of all your paper needs and give a 24/7 customer care support system.

Admissions

Admission Essays & Business Writing Help

An admission essay is an essay or other written statement by a candidate, often a potential student enrolling in a college, university, or graduate school. You can be rest assurred that through our service we will write the best admission essay for you.

Reviews

Editing Support

Our academic writers and editors make the necessary changes to your paper so that it is polished. We also format your document by correctly quoting the sources and creating reference lists in the formats APA, Harvard, MLA, Chicago / Turabian.

Reviews

Revision Support

If you think your paper could be improved, you can request a review. In this case, your paper will be checked by the writer or assigned to an editor. You can use this option as many times as you see fit. This is free because we want you to be completely satisfied with the service offered.